I’m no fashionista, but…

The "world" would have me be "blurry" about my place in it. I defy that adamantly!

…I do, on occasion like to dress nicely. But like most “worker bees” I don’t have buckets of money to spend on one outfit. I am also zoftique (?); uh, Ruebenesque (?); uh, curvy (?); uh, hell I’m overweight. I have to shop at “specialty” stores & websites that cater to my “kind”. Women who like food, don’t subscribe to society’s picture of beautiful and still want to look good in a pants suit. I applaud fashion designers who have “hopped” on this fashion opportunity to design for us “curvies” and make a profit and/or a decent living, doing so.

Does that mean “curvies” have to pay through the nose? I mean I realize that there’s more flesh to cover which means more fabric, but seriously?! $150 – $200 for a dress suit?! $75 – $100 for a pair of jeans?! $40 – $80 for a (means ONE) blouse?! I realize that “regular” fashion designers (i.e., Donna Karan, Tom Ford, Osacar de la Renta, etc.) can charge those kinds of prices and more because they are “a name”. I get that. But since those names don’t necessarily design for “curvies” and the designers who do aren’t necessarily household, yet; how about you get a following and a dedicated, loyal fan base by charging reasonable prices,
before you suck every red cent out of our pockets?

Another thing, NOT ALL “CURVIES” ARE 5’6″ AND SHORTER. I write that in all caps to belabor the point. If I can find a pair of jeans that don’t cost oo-gobs of money because I’m a “tall” and not an “average”, I consider myself incredibly fortunate. I bookmark that website (because I dislike shopping in brick & mortar stores…too many people) before you can say, “Seconds, please!”

Like I said, I’m no fashionista and those who know me in person can attest to that. I’m the one who can wear the heck out of a pair of jeans and who collects t-shirts with odd sayings/images. But, I am also the person who dresses “event-appropriate” and would like to reach in my closet and find something that’s comfortable, fits well and compliments my curves; without having paid a month’s rent for it.

Jus’ sayin’…

And while we’re on the subject…

Why the heck does eating healthy cost more than not?! My son was recently diagnosed with high cholesterol (he’s only 27) and for good reason. We had been eating processed, fried and generally not-good-for-us foods. Why? Because it’s cheap and we have become accustomed to eating to stay alive.

So with this diagnosis, I decided it would be a good thing to start trying to train him (and re-train myself) how to eat more healthy. This involves actually cooking a meal, something I had previously tried not to do too often, because I HATE cooking! Mostly because I HAD to when he was younger and when he turned 18-19 years old I started to let him fend for himself meal-wise. I mean he has always been a picky eater and I got tired of making two separate meals. I’m not the most domesticated female (something I’ve accepted about me) but, his health and mine (I’m diabetic) are important.

So, off we go to the major chain supermarket (in stead of our local bodega-like market) to shop for food. Now previously we’d been averaging $200 per month on groceries, which fit our budget nicely. We start loading up on vegetables, fruits, “fresh” chicken, healthy snacks, etc. Healthy shopping bill… $116!!! For one frakkin’ week! And our food bill has been doubled like that ever since.

Now I’m a bit of a conspiracy theorist so the gist I’m getting is that healthy foods are more expensive than unhealthy because “they” are trying to “thin the herd”. (You know the “they” I’m talking about. The “they” that control governments, education, healthcare and food prices.) “They” want to make sure the number of people “they” are not taking care of with social services, doesn’t exceed a certain amount. So, they make healthy food prices almost astronomical in order to make it just short of out of reach for “worker bees” like me; so we can get sick and die off thereby “thinning the herd”. Sounds crazy? Perhaps. But think about it. If “they” really wanted us to be healthy; if “they” REALLY wanted us to lose weight wouldn’t “they” make it easier to do so?

I mean, getting back to part 1 of this ramble: If I could afford to eat healthier and therefore lose weight, I could take advantage of buying clothing from those discount stores and then I wouldn’t have to ramble on in blogs about stuff like this. I’d be part of the happily ignorant herd that makes up society and no one would get hip to “their” plan.

Hey! I just realized my purpose in life!

Jus’ sayin…

About adauphin04

Humanist, feminist, writer, filmmaker. Ford is an alumni of Bloomfield College, where she majored in Media Studies/Communications and minored in English Literature. While attending Bloomfield College, as a single parent she worked full-time, was on the High Honors list, and a member of the National Honors Society. As a graduate, Ford was listed in the Who’s Who of College Students in America. She has been working at Westminster Arts Center for eight years, is an avid reader and film-goer, writes novels, graphic novels, screenplays and poetry. She is currently working on a feminist docu-drama entitled, "You're Not the Boss of Me!" She is also currently in pre-production with her first feature film "Being Free". Ford lives with her son, Jason, and their pets: Boo (a cat) and Akasha (a ball python). Ford and family are beginning a new chapter in their lives and relocating to Colorado in October 2016.
This entry was posted in body image, conspiracy, eating, fashion, food, healthy food, injustice, shopping, social services, Uncategorized, weight, women and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m no fashionista, but…

  1. ggallen says:

    Sometimes marching to the beat of your own drummer is such a better sound! (But not when it affects your health.) So true in this blog that health = costly. Ridiculous.

    Like

Leave a Reply

