One nation under God/Allah?

Now, let me first say that I am not fully knowledgeable about Islam, nor have a read the Koran. So, please bear that in mind as you read this if, out of my ignorance I get some things wrong.

A friend was giving me the Reader’s Digest condensed version of last night’s (Thursday, January 26, 2012) Republican debate and told me about a question that was asked of the candidates to find out how large a part their personal religions would play in their decision-making if they were elected. I am told that Ron Paul replied that his religion is his moral persona and should not play a part in his public (presidential) persona with regards to decision-making. The rest went on to reply that we’re one nation under God… that we are endowed with inalienable rights via our Creator… etc., indicating that their religion would play a large part in their decision-making, should they be elected.

I have heard Republicans link President Obama with Sharia law and how Sharia law is the evil of evils. I have heard Republicans rail against Muslim fundamentalists “meddling” in government, or taking over governments and express their fear of impending doom, should that happen. I seem to remember during the Bush administration when the U.S. was planning the invasion of Iraq, ex-President Bush raising a rallying cry of outrage against Muslim fundamentalists being behind the 9/11 attacks on the World Trade Center and to replace Iraqi government with a more democratic government would prevent such attacks from happening in the future.

So what’s the gist, here? That it’s OK for Christians to meddle in government but not Muslims? Are Republicans saying that the Christian God is better, or at the very least less of a “threat” to our civil liberties than Allah is to the civil liberties of Muslims?

It is my understanding that fundamentalist Islam views women as third-class citizens, denying them rights that a great many Christian women take for granted. However, I have read of some of Western women’s rights come under fire as some right-wing politicians seek to change legislation with regards to insurance companies ability to pay or not to pay for contraception and to limit healthcare institutions that are Christian/Catholic run from performing abortions.



Is this not something “born” from being “one nation under God”, or having one’s religion be a guide in one’s political decision making? As a woman, it frightens me that men in government look to the Bible (especially the Old Testament, which clearly states that women are chattel), for guidance.

Isn’t the logical conclusion then to keep any form of religion out of the political arena? I mean the founding fathers were, well, the founders of separation of church and state, weren’t they?

Just my two cents…

About adauphin04

Humanist, feminist, writer, filmmaker. Ford is an alumni of Bloomfield College, where she majored in Media Studies/Communications and minored in English Literature. While attending Bloomfield College, as a single parent she worked full-time, was on the High Honors list, and a member of the National Honors Society. As a graduate, Ford was listed in the Who’s Who of College Students in America. She has been working at Westminster Arts Center for eight years, is an avid reader and film-goer, writes novels, graphic novels, screenplays and poetry. She is currently working on a feminist docu-drama entitled, "You're Not the Boss of Me!" She is also currently in pre-production with her first feature film "Being Free". Ford lives with her son, Jason, and their pets: Boo (a cat) and Akasha (a ball python). Ford and family are beginning a new chapter in their lives and relocating to Colorado in October 2016.
This entry was posted in abortion, contraception, politics, religion, women and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to One nation under God/Allah?

  1. cristina says:

    Excellent post. I have had problems for years with this countries religious acceptance. We take pride in saying that we are a country founded on religious freedom. We say religious freedom is a right to all citizens. Then we, citizens and leaders, determine which religions that applies to. We then try to apply it not only in our country but in others. There are practices that I do not agree with in various religions, Christian, Muslim, and other. Just because I do not agree with them does not mean they cannot be valid for someone else. There are practices in all faiths that I do agree with that others do not. I cannot let what I believe or practice be the determining factor for something that would affect an entire country. Political leaders need to come to the understanding that in order to maintain our religious freedom, religion must be kept separate from government.
    On another note….congratulations on your nomin. I came to your blog after seeing the tweet to Gregory Allen. I came to this post because I wanted to see if, in my opinion,it was justified. After exploring your blog, I can honestly say, it was. Congratulations once again.

    Like

  2. cristina says:

    I hate writing on my tablet. I always see something that is changed with the posting. Nominal should have been nomination. I have no clue why my tablet cannot use proper spelling.

    Like

Leave a Reply

