An open letter to “dream killers”…

Everyone has dreams. Everyone has wants and desires. EVERYONE. So, why, when you share your dreams with some people, do they do their best to trample them? Don’t THEY have dreams? Don’t THEY have wants and desires that may be slightly out of their grasp, yet they continue to want and desire whatever it is?

I’ve been told that misery loves company. Is that what makes people try to kill others’ dreams? Are people out there THAT miserable that they’ve ceased to dream and, therefore, look to kill your dreams, as well?

I am a movie fanatic and hope to, DREAM to become a successful screenwriter. However, because I’m in my 40s and still working towards that goal; and, because people don’t see evidence of me working on making my dream a reality, they tell me I’m only a movie fan and I should stop kidding myself. They say that to me like they know what the future will bring. They say that to me like they’ve read my work and it’s the worse piece of trash they’ve read in their lives. And though my brain can tell my heart not to take their words, well, to heart, it still hurts.  It takes away just a bit of motivation; a bit of the “if-I-turn-this-way-my-dream-will-be-at-the-end-of-the-tunnel” umph that we all strive towards in order to bring our dreams to fruition. (And for me, that’s the hardest thing to maintain because I have a tendency to be a  (GHE) “Glass-Half-Empty” kind of person, in the first place.

Maybe I AM simply a movie fan, however shouldn’t you be a fan of, or love what you’re doing in order to be happily successful? Aren’t we told that the richest people on the earth are those that are doing what they love for a living? So, I’m able to take what is meant as an insult and turn it around to support my endeavors; but, not all the time. (Remember, GHE girl, here!)

So, listen up dream killers of the world! You may have given up on your dream, or let someone kill your dream and now your miserable because of it. I’m truly sorry to hear that, but it’s not my fault and it’s not the fault of those whose dreams you, in turn, try to kill. Leave us dreamers be. Even if the dream is something that, to you, may seem completely unattainable, leave us be to dream it. Don’t being us down by telling us, “THAT WILL NEVER HAPPEN!” What’s it to you? How do you know that for certain? Aside from wanting company in your self-imposed misery, or even if, in your judgment, the dream in question isn’t something YOU THINK will happen…what’s it to you if we dreamers “waste our time” dreaming it? Does it cost you anything? Does it in any way impede you from doing you? NO?

Then leave us dreamers to our dreams. And here’s a tip… the computer your using to read this; the glasses you may be wearing in order to see this clearly; the cup of coffee you’re possibly sipping while reading this… All these things were dreamed up by someone. I mean would you look at a human and immediately think, “well there’s someone who should be flying”? Well, the Wright brothers did and that was a pretty far fetched dream.

About adauphin04

Humanist, feminist, writer, filmmaker. Ford is an alumni of Bloomfield College, where she majored in Media Studies/Communications and minored in English Literature. While attending Bloomfield College, as a single parent she worked full-time, was on the High Honors list, and a member of the National Honors Society. As a graduate, Ford was listed in the Who’s Who of College Students in America. She has been working at Westminster Arts Center for eight years, is an avid reader and film-goer, writes novels, graphic novels, screenplays and poetry. She is currently working on a feminist docu-drama entitled, "You're Not the Boss of Me!" She is also currently in pre-production with her first feature film "Being Free". Ford lives with her son, Jason, and their pets: Boo (a cat) and Akasha (a ball python). Ford and family are beginning a new chapter in their lives and relocating to Colorado in October 2016.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to An open letter to “dream killers”…

  1. While other people are arguing about whether the glass is half empty or half full, just drink it down, enjoy, believe and stay active toward your dreams. That’s my philosophy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

